Does anyone here practice yi quan?

23rdwave

Green Belt
Reaction score
I study Han Shi Yi Quan in Sacramento, California with Martin Wong. Martin is a former student of Sam Tam (yi quan) and Henry Look (guang ping yang taiji, hsing i, ba gua). I studied taiji and hsing i with Henry until I came to Martin 16 months ago.

Here are some videos of what we do.

How do you train your yi quan?

Nick

greytowhite

Green Belt
Reaction score
Awesome! I always wanted to train with those guys when I was in Sacramento but taking the bus from North Natomas just wasn't feasible. The open push hands group at McKinley Park on Sundays would probably appreciate someone from your group, it's mainly taiji guys who are exploring the more martial aspects of the art but there was also a judoka and a wing chun player there as well the few times I was able to participate. My Chen taiji teacher gave me a few postures "from Yiquan" but I'd say that it wasn't at all like what I've talked with Yiquan practitioners about when it comes to their practice. Although the taiji zhuang was very interesting and I don't know why he didn't just have me do more of that.

Standing practice and single movements in the xingyi I'm learning now is obviously important considering the gains I've made in neijin in the few short months I've been learning. Does the Sacramento group do any "second course" AKA traditional forms material? Hopefully I can make it up north again for a visit in the next few months.

Xue Sheng

All weight is underside
Reaction score
There are Yiquan people here, although I am a Taiji guy who use to be a Xingyi guy. I had a little taste of Yiquan about a month ago with Wang Rengang and I have to say I was rather impressed, so much so that if I lived closer to Wang Rengang's school I would have been there a month already.