Doc: What do you think about...

camilyon

White Belt
Reaction score
Doc,

Salute. :asian: I am a college student. I've learned a very little bit of Xingyiquan and hope to study SL4AK when I transfer to UCLA fall 2006. I have a two-part question for you: What do you think about AKKI's rhythmic timing patterns and Zach Whitman's Kenpo Counterpoint?

Doc

Senior Master
Reaction score
camilyon said:
Doc,

Salute. :asian: I am a college student. I've learned a very little bit of Xingyiquan and hope to study SL4AK when I transfer to UCLA fall 2006. I have a two-part question for you: What do you think about AKKI's rhythmic timing patterns and Zach Whitman's Kenpo Counterpoint?
UCLA. Good school. No, great school. Be specific in your question.

kenpoworks

Purple Belt
Reaction score
I am interested in "camilyon"'s post on "rhythmic timing patterns" and your take on them, so Doc !... could you please give an example of their existence in "EP's motion Kenpo" or are they a AKKI development in your opinion?
Rich

XtremeJ_AKKI

Green Belt
Reaction score
kenpoworks said:
I am interested in "camilyon"'s post on "rhythmic timing patterns" and your take on them, so Doc !... could you please give an example of their existence in "EP's motion Kenpo" or are they a AKKI development in your opinion?
Rich

They are an AKKI development, specifically from Mr. Paul Mills. It might be prudent to, if one has a question about a specific concept, to go straight to the source of the concept.

Doc

Senior Master
Reaction score
kenpoworks said:
Rich
Well at the risk of being politically incorrect, I must say the idea or “concept” of executing a technique with a particular “rhythm” or “phrasing” in my opinion, is not a Paul Mills invention. Perhaps it could be termed a personal “discovery” if he didn’t learn it, (or it wasn't taught to him) by Ed Parker who did the same thing, but instead simply called it “timing” and in all honesty did it much better and effectively.