dislocated knee first day of MT

verynicehowmuch

White Belt
Reaction score
I've been studying Tang Soo Do for about 3 years and I'm looking for something to study alongside it. About a week ago I tried a class at a Muay Thai gym. There was a conditioning class and a sparring class and I accidentally showed up for the sparring one, but I just went with it. About 15 minutes into sparring (I was fighting using what I know from TSD), I took a kick to the knee and it got dislocated.
It caused a small fracture and also a lot of swelling. I can't bend it and I'm in a leg brace but I can walk fine.
Is it wise for me to return to Muay Thai or is the risk of re-dislocation too high? Can I even return to TSD? Am I pretty much out of commission now? What can I do to prevent this from happening again?

skribs

Grandmaster
Reaction score
Here's my advice:
  • Your doctor will give better advice than random people on the internet
  • If you're not sure, safety is more important than martial arts training

drop bear

Sr. Grandmaster
Reaction score
Happened to me because I tended to pivot like a boxer and got caught. So basically my knee turned inwards which is a bad position to take kicks.

The prevention is just better structure.

jobo

Grandmaster
Reaction score
I've been studying Tang Soo Do for about 3 years and I'm looking for something to study alongside it. About a week ago I tried a class at a Muay Thai gym. There was a conditioning class and a sparring class and I accidentally showed up for the sparring one, but I just went with it. About 15 minutes into sparring (I was fighting using what I know from TSD), I took a kick to the knee and it got dislocated.
It caused a small fracture and also a lot of swelling. I can't bend it and I'm in a leg brace but I can walk fine.
Is it wise for me to return to Muay Thai or is the risk of re-dislocation too high? Can I even return to TSD? Am I pretty much out of commission now? What can I do to prevent this from happening again?