Differences between Ju jitsu and BJJ

K

Kenpo_student

I have signed up to take a class in ju jitsu for the next three months. I am just curious what the differences are between Japaness ju jitsu and Brazilian ju jitsu. I am just asking because I am familiar with BJJ thru Pride fc and UFC but I haven't heard much about traditional JJ. Thanks in advance.

:asian:

Jay Bell

Master Black Belt
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
There's honestly very little in common between Jujutsu and BJJ. BJJ comes from Judo...which comes from Jujutsu. BJJ does most of it's work on the ground (ne-waza), while many Jujutsu traditions work from standing and controlling the opponent to and on the ground.

OP
K

Kenpo_student

Thanks for the reply. Does JJ use the same chokes and joint locks as BJJ or are those modified judo techniques also? Sorry I don't know much about this but I am new to MA and my main art is american Kenpo and I am taking the JJ to broaden my learning(and to get enough hours for student loans).

OP
T

tmanifold

BJJ is mostly 40's Judo but the chokes and joint locks carry over well from most styles of Classical Jujutsu. Judo pre 50's or 60's was alot more like Jujutsu than it is today.

Tony

Kempojujutsu

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
BJJ philosophy is to get you down on the ground and apply some kind of choke, arm or foot submission. Most BJJ'ers cross train in boxing and or Muay Thai. JJJ uses alot of the same chokes and locks that BJJ does. But striking is more important to JJJ and they tend to want to stay standing up right. I believe JJJ teaches to deal with Mulitpal attackers better than BJJ. Overall IMO JJJ deals with real self defense senerios better than does BJJ. At lease that is the way I teach.
Bob :asian:

Aegis

Purple Belt
Reaction score
Glad to hear it!