Dental damage/work

malteaser14

Orange Belt
Reaction score
Hi I started training 8months ago. Recently some of the guys were discussing how much their dental work had cost them. Have any of you seriously damaged your teeth whislt training/Sparring/Competing? And if you have was it with or without a mouthguard?

Bill Mattocks

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Hi I started training 8months ago. Recently some of the guys were discussing how much their dental work had cost them. Have any of you seriously damaged your teeth whislt training/Sparring/Competing? And if you have was it with or without a mouthguard?

No damage so far. I wear a mouth guard whilst competing in point-sparring. In the dojo, I do not wear a mouth guard, but haven't been punched in the mouth (yet). Roughly 4 years of training so far.

dancingalone

Grandmaster
Reaction score
I have an implant for one of my canines. It was knocked out by gyaku-tsuki I took in bare hands sparring. No mouth guard which was stupid but I'm not sure one would have a made a difference. It was a great punch that caught me totally flat-footed and I took all of the force straight on.

puunui

Senior Master
Reaction score
I have an implant for one of my canines.

You didn't want to go with a bridge? I heard that implants or any metal in the mouth really can lead to arthritis later on. I have crowns but they are all porcelain. Or at least that is what they told me.

ETinCYQX

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
I've bit a few holes in my tongue rolling. Never broken a tooth though

I also don't pay for dental work because of my insurance.

K-man

Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Reaction score
You didn't want to go with a bridge? I heard that implants or any metal in the mouth really can lead to arthritis later on. I have crowns but they are all porcelain. Or at least that is what they told me.