dealing with someone much bigger

cfr

Black Belt
Reaction score
Howdy all. I figure this is a pretty universal question so I posted it in this section instead of one related to my specific art. Ive been training for a couple of years but Ive bounced around between schools so my progress has been rather slow. Ive never sparred and, without trying to start any debate here, it makes me feel like I dont really know how to handle myself against people bigger than me. Im 5' 9" and about 205 lbs. I run into a guy on a fairly regular basis that is probably about 6' 5" and lots of extra mass. He very often threatens and initimidates people. We are by know means on bad terms but truthfully if he fell off the face of the earth I dont think he would be missed by anyone. Anyways, I got to thinking if I was to ever need to fight this guy I might be kind of hosed. I think I would do fairly well against someone around my size, but not so much against this guy. Of course if I hit him before he knew we were fighting(sucker punch) I would prrobably be victorious but I dont see me ever doing that. In about 4 - 6 months I'll begin sparring drills and then work my way into real sparring. Im aware that sparring isnt the end all be all to fighting but I think I ( I, me, this guy, CFR, not you) will be far better prepared to deal with this after Ive been sparring a while than I am today. So in the meantime, how to deal? Im not talking about if he does a wrist grab or something that requires my most awesome self defense move, but when a real fight breaks out. Im can hit, kick, elbow, and knee pretty hard and pretty fast. But Ive never done it in the face of combat. (high school excluded) Ive never put it all together. Ive never incorporated all my skills at once. I guess what Im the most worried about is how I would deal with a flurry of punches from this guy. Sure Ive learned how to parry and some footwork, but Ive never had a barrage of punches comintg hard and fast at my face. I really d