Considering a compound bow

PhotonGuy

Senior Master
Reaction score
I am thinking of getting a good compound bow and practicing with it. Although the gun is, I strongly believe, overall a superior weapon, the bow is a good alternative in some situations. For one thing, unlike a gun a bow is silent, or at least its much less noisy. Also, with all the gun phobia that's going around right now gun regulations are only going to become tighter and guns are only going to be harder to get and harder to legally carry and use. I want to get a good compound bow for a reasonable price. I would think, as a beginner I probably wouldn't want to really break the bank getting a super high quality compound bow.

Takai

Senior Master
Reaction score
Never been a fan of Compound bows. Nothing inherently wrong with them the just require to much "tackle". I shoot recurve at the moment but, hope to move into Mongolian Horn bow. I really like the thumb ring shooting style.

Makalakumu

Gonzo Karate Apocalypse
MT Mentor
Reaction score
What do you want to use a bow for? Hunting?

OP
P

PhotonGuy

Senior Master
Reaction score
I mostly intend to use the bow for self defense as an alternative to a gun in some situations. I also would like to use it for sport and target shooting. I've never considered hunting with a bow although I know some people really enjoy that. From what I've seen when I've looked at bows in sports shops, the compound bow looks shorter than most other types of bows such as recurve bows, so for that reason they look like they will be less awkward for storage and for handling and using.

Dirty Dog

MT Senior Moderator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
I honestly cannot think of many things less useful for self defense than a compound bow.
It's not like you can conceal it, or fire it quickly.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk.

Xue Sheng

All weight is underside
Reaction score