Confused about JKD

H

Hurdoc

First my background, I have no experience in martial arts however I have been researching extensively over the last month in my pursuit for one. :)
That said, JKD sounds interesting but I'm a little concerned about its "vagueness". In other words, its claim that its "formless" and takes a little from "whatever works". So if it specializes in nothing and encompasses all, what differentiates it from any mixed martial art and/or combat style like Systema, Krav Maga, Shoot Fighting, etc? I worry about a "jack of all trades, master of none" effect. Perhaps I have a traditional understanding of martial arts but it sounds frighteningly vague for a newbie like myself to start. :confused:
My second concern is that does it work? In other words, other martial arts have been "time-tested" in that they have lasted hundreds if not thousands of years. Plus they have been used in combat situations. I know that many of the techniques are no longer practially needed (unseating a mounted samurai :D ), but you understand what I mean.
I'm not criticizing to no end, this is a means to relieve my own doubts so I can choose the right MA for me! Thanks!

Just wanted to add, a lot of the principles in JKD seem similar to the "scientific" approach of American Kenpo, with a breakdown of the structure of moves and fluidity of motion. In fact, aren't they quite similar? Particularly since many American Kenpo teachers also instruct in Filipino stick/trapping arts? Again, the reason I ask is that I have American Kenpo available in my town as well ;)

Matt Stone

Master of Arts
Reaction score
All are One.

The Form of No Form and Technique of No Technique thing is highly misunderstood. It is simply a philosophical metaphor describing destruction of self-imposed limitations.