Concerned about lack of sparring in class, will this limit my effectiveness?

John

White Belt
Reaction score
Greetings,

Just started taking Shaolin Kempo classes a couple of months ago. I have never done any martial arts before and I am really enjoying it. Only wish I had started earlier in my life, but I guess we all may feel that way.

Anyway as I was saying I am really enjoying the class but I have concerns because there is no sparring except for one one night a week, not during the actual class. I do not think sparring is when a opponet slowing makes a punch, and I block and then do a mock punch etc. Should I not have protective gear on and the scenario be as true to life as possible?

Almost everyone in my class has been with this instructor a long time, and all are black belts so he must be good at what he does. I know I am starting to ramble, but could anyone give me some experince on this issue? Do people feel competent if they have trained this way?

Thanks

Flatlander

Grandmaster
Reaction score
Hi John, welcome to Martial Talk.

My take on this is that different instructors have different ways of conducting their training. With that in mind, I wouldn't be too concerned that yours is leading you astray. There's a saying, "perfect practice makes perfect."

The way I see it, there isn't much value (in terms of learning how to move in accordance with the principles of your chosen art) in getting down and dirty without having some understanding of form. Beyond that, you'll find, with practice, that seeing and feeling things in slow motion will provide you with a couple of benefits. It allows you to consciously feel and understand the dynamics of moving with another body. Also, you'll feel much more comfortable, over time, in dealing with a more aggressive opponent.