Competing against Karate in forms

xray328

White Belt
Reaction score
Hi all. Noob here.Our 7 y/o son went to his first tournament yesterday. We were suprised to see that he was the only kid performing Tae-Kwon-Do. As this was his first tournament, he competed in forms, and came in 7th. It just didn't seem like he could fairly compete against the karate forms which were much more complex and lengthy. Is it possible to fairly compete against the karate forms? He's a little discouraged. Thanks in advance!

Tez3

Sr. Grandmaster
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Hi all. Noob here.Our 7 y/o son went to his first tournament yesterday. We were suprised to see that he was the only kid performing Tae-Kwon-Do. As this was his first tournament, he competed in forms, and came in 7th. It just didn't seem like he could fairly compete against the karate forms which were much more complex and lengthy. Is it possible to fairly compete against the karate forms? He's a little discouraged. Thanks in advance!

Hi welcome to MT! It's possible to compete against karateka in form/kata as long as there are judges who know both styles forms/kata. The complexity doesn't matter really as the judging will be on the execution not the kata chosen. I used to compete a lot in kata competitions and you could find quite often than some people would win with a simple well executed kata against people going through the motions in a more difficult kata. A lot of people chose the more complicated forms thinking they will get points for knowing a higher one. I love seeing a simple form/kata down well.
Tell him please don't be discouraged, to come 7th in your first tournament is pretty cool, in my first few I didn't come anywhere. The trick is to do your form the very best you can, to get inside it and understand it.

I do think though that at 7 he would be better competing in TKD competitions, did his club enter him? If so I'm a bit surprised.

OP
X

xray328

White Belt
Reaction score