Comparing Tracy and Parker techniques

F

FLY

:asian:

The following quote is from an old post here by SuperDave.

By the way, do you know of a site that describes any of the Tracy self defense techniques? There are no Tracy schools near my home in Maryland, I am kind of curious to see some of the techniques in your system.

It reminded me of something that I've been curious about since I started studying Tracy's Kenpo, how do Parker's techs compare with Tracy's techs. What are the similarities/differences between them and how many techs are actually the same (or close to) with just different names? (eg. 'Parting the Waves' and 'Gathering Clouds', if my memory serves)

I am hoping that some of the members of this forum with experience/knowledge of both systems can detail/breakdown some of these similar techniques. Perhaps a detailed breakdown of one technique (one from each system that relate to each other) per week?

My reason for this request is that I have read a lot of posts regarding Parker's techs (some are very informative and interesting) and I would like to be able to compare
these Parker techs and insights with something I'm a LITTLE more familiar with and be able to relate them to some Tracy techs that I am learning.

My apologizes if this has already been covered here before.

thesensei

Green Belt
Reaction score
Originally posted by FLY

How many techs are actually the same (or close to) with just different names? (eg. 'Parting the Waves' and 'Gathering Clouds', if my memory serves)

I am hoping that some of the members of this forum with experience/knowledge of both systems can detail/breakdown some of these similar techniques. Perhaps a detailed breakdown of one technique (one from each system that relate to each other) per week?

My reason for this request is that I have read a lot of posts regarding Parker's techs (some are very informative and interesting) and I would like to be able to compare