College Student Seeking Info about MMA

vandiepen145

White Belt
Reaction score
I am a college student and for my senior experience project I am to find the different market segments of the MMA industry. If anyone would be willing to answer the questions below to help give me some incite on the consumer, that'd be great! Also, any other info you would like to share and think would be valuable for me to know. Answer a couple questions or all of them, anything will help!

1) What got you started in Martial Arts?
- What discipline are you in?
- What skill level are you?
3) What other things do you like to do?
4) What are the 1st three brands that come into your mind and your opinions of them?
5) How did you decide what type of equipment to get? and brand?
6) How often do you buy new equipment? Where at and why?

Thanks for any input!! :)

Tony Dismukes

MT Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
Hmm ... it's really unclear what you mean by "the different market segments of the MMA industry" and what your questions have to do with that topic.

The biggest part of MMA as a business is garnering fans to watch televised events - the vast majority of whom are not martial artists. After that I suppose it would be getting advertisers (most not selling martial arts equipment) and selling merchandise (most of which is not martial arts training equipment, although some is.)

Most martial artists are not MMA practitioners and the vast majority of members on this site are not part of the "MMA industry" except insomuch as some of us are fans of the sport and might watch the occasional PPV. The training gear we might buy and the brands we might prefer can vary considerably according to the martial art we practice, but for most of us it isn't MMA gear.

Tez3

Sr. Grandmaster
Supporting Member
Reaction score
I can answer all the questions having been in all sides of MMA for a long time but I don't think it would do you any good because I assume you want it to pertain to the US.