Cheers mates! new to the ma comunity

Ridarthane

White Belt
Reaction score
Hello! I am new to martial arts and i want to pick up an art to dedicate my free time that i'd probably end up wasting in my college dorm room, sippin beer, eatin doritos n netflix/ 9gag.I might as well go out there and do/learn something new.

I am from Romania, 21 years old, 2nd year of college.
I am left handed, stubborn, and i tend to get angry easy but i cool off just as fast.
I lived in the countryside until last year and i got a decent level of strength from the work i had to do.
I am 1.83 m tall, 90 kg and endo-mesomorph somatotype

Back to the arts, I intend to pick up either BJJ, since i red a lot of good reviews, and it is one of the META grappling and it definitley works. An alternative would be muay thai. The simplicity and effectiveness of the sport, as well as the versatility of the basic strikes and the brutal conditioning makes me wanting to pick it up instead.
I did some research and the avaiable BJJ place is run by 2 instructors, a purple (Marius Mazareanu) and a brown belt (Octav Anechitei) under Alexander "Xande" Riberio. If anyone can provide me with a feedback about it i'd be very grateful.
The Muay thai place is coached by Capusneac Ioan and he apparently had a couple of fights and some of his students reached pro level in striking competitions.

What would you suggest me?

Last edited:

oftheherd1

Senior Master
Reaction score
Welcome to MT. Looking forward to your input.

Your choices will be yours to make. My personal advice would be against Muy Thai, just as it would be against boxing in general, which is probably also in your area. With the revelations from football in the USA, about brain damage, I would advise against any form of boxing. Be aware I say that with no experience in studying or even following Muy Thai, so some practitioners may come in and dispute that.