Can martial arts help a 59 year old beer gut?

Bebe

White Belt
Reaction score
Hello everyone,
I'm not a martial artist and never desired to be one. That said, I'm exploring martial arts for two reasons;
1) First, at 59 years old and overweight with a beer gut that I swore I'd never have, I want to slim up and get in much better shape. As a younger man, I was trim and fit as a Vietnam soldier, police officer, and security officer. I played several sports well and was into bodybuilding. I still work out ocassionally but my joints hurt with the effort and make workouts unpleasant. I want to know if martial arts can help such an old beer gut as me.
2) I live in the Chicago area and I'm worried about my aging ability to protect myself on the street like I used to. I was a fair wrestler and street fighter in my youth but now I'm old and grey, stiff, fat, and slow with self defense skills. I can't carry any weapon in Illinois which is very strict in such laws. I still have broad shoulders, big arms, and a big chest but they are more window dressing than quick-fire weapons. I was thinking of developing my hands into some "iron fist or hand knife" weapon. Is this feasible for a man like me or not?

Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks.

Andrew Green

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
SHort answer yes.

But, there is a "but"...

Different classes will tackle fitness in different ways. Some classes will get you in great shape, others seem to create beer guts...

OP
B

Bebe

White Belt
Reaction score
Mr. Green,
What do you recommend for slimming up, and what would you recommend for a hand-oriented self-defense martial art?

Andrew Green

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I'd lean towards boxing. It's fairly easy on the body, unless you start sparring hard. The fitness aspect is always there, the coaches tend to have a good knowledge of sports science and it's easily one of the more effective arts.