Camcorder downloading

parkerkarate

Blue Belt
Reaction score
Ok so I am trying to put video's up on youtube from a camcorder. It shows it as a wmv file but when it is finished it says that the file is invalid. I have been trying to use Windows Movie Maker and that dosen't work. Any help?

newGuy12

Master of Arts
Reaction score
Hello, parkerkarate!

I've never done this before, but I did see this document, which may be of use to you:

[SIZE=-0] What does "Invalid file format error" mean? [/SIZE]

"Invalid file format error" means that your video is in a format that our system doesn't accept. We accept most file formats, including .wmv, .mov, .mpg, or .avi. If your video meets these minimum requirements and still won't upload, it may be due to a problem with the video compression you are using. We recommend the MPEG4 (Divx, Xvid, SVQ3) format at 320x240 resolution with MP3 audio. Resizing your video to these specifications before uploading will help your clips look better on YouTube.

If you're using Windows Movie Maker, it's also possible that you tried to upload your .MSWMM file. This is not an actual movie file. An .MSWMM file is a Windows Movie Maker project file. If you're satisfied with your movie, choose the "Publish Movie" or "Save Movie File" option (depending on which version you have) under the "File" menu and create a movie file such as .avi or .wmv.

It would be interesting to see if this is what is causing the error:
If your video meets these minimum requirements and still won't upload, it may be due to a problem with the video compression you are using.

reference:

http://www.google.com/support/youtube/bin/answer.py?answer=58128&query=invalid+file&topic=&type=

Regards,

Robert

Blotan Hunka

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
Are you recording to tape or to digital? If digital, what format does the camera save in?

theletch1

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Are you recording to tape or to digital? If digital, what format does the camera save in?