Call Me Names!!!

thedan

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
I'm studying the Yang 24 form right now, begginer level, and have some questions about the things I was taught. Any stylist can answer these, by the way, as I'm more interested in theory and aplication than in how any one style or system does it.

First, posting. This to me seems to completely break down body structure. I don't care how "right" you do it, you can feel it as you move. And when you test it on people that have been doing this a while, it is the same- after they post and step, and are in any posture they choose, their structure is gone under force.

Conversely, I can step "on railroad tracks" into any psoture in the 24 form you want me to and I have structure in the direction of force that posture is intended to have it. And I am neither very stout nor very experienced.

So how does your school or system step through from one posture to another? Do you "post" (crescent), or do you completely transfer weight and then step straight forward?

Second, moving backward, as in Repulse the Monkey. I find it much more structured as well as practical to pivot on the Younquan as opposed to allowing the foot to pivot on the heel with leg straight and knee exposed while you presumably fend off an attacker. Pivoting around the Youngquan structures the leg to protect that knee, and also engages the muscles of the foot and leg in proper sequence to step as the tantien turns and carries it. Note it is important to keep pressure on the foot as it turns as well, or muscles are not engaged. This is a huge problem I see with allowing it to turn on the heel- no pressure, no muscular engagement, and therefore no structure. Just an exposed and unsupported knee left in the path of an oncoming assailant.

Again the question is, how do you do this?