Breaking boards

Mujician

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Is breaking boards purely the reserve of practitioners of Tae Kwon Do? Most searches both on this forum and the wider internet brings up links to Korean martial artists.
I'd like to give it a go - I'm a student of Wado Ryu Karate. We have plenty of techniques that could break boards.
I was looking for advice on what I should get - re-breakable boards?, or wood? What kind of wood do I need (can't actually believe I just wrote that I'm looking for wood on the internet!)?

JR 137

Grandmaster
Reaction score
Lots of arts break stuff. Kyokushin (karate) loves to break stuff.

Wood is for sissies. Get ice, concrete, roofing tiles, etc.

In all seriousness, he careful. The boards actually hit back. Improper technique and setup will get you hurt. Learn from a person who knows what they're doing rather than videos.

Headhunter

Senior Master
Reaction score
I don't see the value of it. Most of the ones you see in demos of 5 year olds breaking is fake boards that are already broken.It looks cool but that's about it

Bill Mattocks

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I don't see the value of it. Most of the ones you see in demos of 5 year olds breaking is fake boards that are already broken.It looks cool but that's about it

You may not see the value, but there is one, IMHO.

Breaking Concrete - Soft Break

We don't break boards much in the dojo where I train. We have some rebreakable boards, but they're not in use much. We do sometimes break concrete pavers, in the manner shown in my video above. Usually multiple pavers, without spacers inbetween.

I have been 'informed' by well-meaning imbeciles who insist on impugning my integrity to tell me that we 'cook' our concrete pavers, or bake them in an oven, or dry them out, or wet them down, or whatever it is people think we do that would cause them to be 'easy' to break.