Bowing in Martial Arts

Bill Mattocks

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
It's pretty simple to me. But apparently it's a big 'thing' to others. Pulled this from an unrelated thread, thought it deserved its own discussion.

I study at a dojo in the USA that we call a 'traditional' Okinawan style dojo (Isshinryu is our style).

We bow when we enter the dojo floor, and when we leave.

We bow to start and end each class - to our Sensei and to the shomen (wall of honor).

We bow to our partners before we begin working with them on self-defense techniques, kata, sparring, or whatnot.

We bow to our Sensei if he speaks directly to us.

We're told that the word 'rei' in Japanese means 'respect'. It is also the word we use to indicate it is time to bow.

I see using Google translate that 礼 means 'thanks' or an expression of gratitude.

In any case, as a military veteran, I am not adverse to bowing. It reminds me of saluting, which I did a lot in the military. It serves a similar function.

When I bow upon entering and leaving the dojo floor, I am showing my respect for all those who have gone before, for the fact that the facility is there for me to train karate.

When I bow to my instructor, I show my respect for him. He returns the bow - showing his respect for me.

When I bow to the shomen, also known as the wall of honor, I am not worshiping anyone or anything, as some have said. I am once again merely showing my respect for those who put in so much effort and dedication in creating and maintaining a style of karate that is now being taught to me.