bjj beginner question

bradtash

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
hey all,

i am currently learning muay thai. i have been doing it for 8 months now and am considering adding bjj to it. i am a rather large fella, around 115kgs and a not overly fit.
i just have a quick question, should i spend the next 2 months getting fitter then begin learning bjj or am i best off just jumping straight into it?
my friend who does bjj said to get fit first as it wrecks you way more then muay thai, but i thought i would see others opinions as i dont want to waste time getting ready for something when i could/should be doing it.
also what about flexibility? i am not overly flexible, should a practice on this or is this not really a huge part of training.
thanks all.

MJS

Administrator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
hey all,

i am currently learning muay thai. i have been doing it for 8 months now and am considering adding bjj to it. i am a rather large fella, around 115kgs and a not overly fit.
i just have a quick question, should i spend the next 2 months getting fitter then begin learning bjj or am i best off just jumping straight into it?
my friend who does bjj said to get fit first as it wrecks you way more then muay thai, but i thought i would see others opinions as i dont want to waste time getting ready for something when i could/should be doing it.
also what about flexibility? i am not overly flexible, should a practice on this or is this not really a huge part of training.
thanks all.

It wouldn't hurt to start putting more focus on cardio, however, many times it comes down to actually doing the activity rather than something else. In other words, if you started to run, in order to get in shape, that will help, but if you want to get in shape by doing BJJ, then that is what you need to do. You'll notice that you will be using different muscles, etc., when you start rolling. I'm not saying running wont help, but rolling is very different than running.