Beware of SOME personal training

Zujitsuka

Blue Belt
Reaction score
Some would say that I'm shooting myself in the foot by sharing this article with you all being that I'm a fitness trainer. The truth is the truth though and it needs to be told. I take being a fitness trainer very seriously but the the exam I had to take to get certified was kind of a joke. Anybody out-of-shape person could've passed the written exam. It was an open book online test for goodness sake.

Anyway, check out this article,Muscle Malpractice: An Exercise in Insanity

rmclain

Black Belt
Reaction score
Not all personal trainer education seems to be equal. Sorry to read that many unqualified trainers are out there.

I studied for a basic entry-level personal trainer certification. I had to attend 6 weeks of classes on a Sunday (four hours lecture on physiology, biomechanics, nutrition, etc.) , lunch break, then four hours of hands-on instruction in the weight room and gym). The 6th class was the written exam (in a classroom), then a hands-on graded evaluation while working with a partner that acted as a hypothetical client with certain conditions in the weight room. We had to have a current CPR certification. The test results were sent to the HQ for review, and they mailed our pass/fail results about 4 weeks later.

I've been weight training and keeping up with health articles and education for years, and was pleasantly surprised by how much I learned from the class.

R. McLain

Marginal

Senior Master
Reaction score
Ouch. Didn't know it was possible to work yourself to a muscular soup like that.

arnisador

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Professionalization is a long process. Physicians, as a group, were riddled with quacks in the 19th century. They toughened their standards way up, and with it their prestige and income.

T

TonyM.