Best Place to Order Tournament Iaito from?

shima

K3NPO
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
I'm looking to get a new tournament iaito. One of my classmates got his custom made from http://www.tozando.com/ and so right now that's what I'm currently leaning towards doing for my new sword... but was just wondering if any of you have other suggestions as well?

Budget is somewhere around the 600-800 range give or take depending on pro's and con's of said vendor and the swords they offer. I'm ok if there's a X many months of production time to wait at the suggested vendor, I don't need it in a hurry.

Sukerkin

Have the courage to speak softly
MT Mentor
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I would definitely recommend Tozando. Their higher echelon offerings are very good indeed and I've been using one for about six years with no complaints.

pgsmith

Master of Arts
Reaction score
Tozando is a good choice. Other places that I've dealt with, and had good experiences with, are Nishijin sword (actually affiliated with Tozando, but different offerings), Yamato Budogu, and Swordstore.com
I don't know what SDKsupplies is carrying these days for iaito since our net nanny at work won't let me access the site, so I haven't been there in quite some time. However, I have purchased a lot of good quality stuff from there in the past.

P.S. You mention 'tournament iaito', so I'm going to throw this out there just in case. Don't keep an iaito just for tournament. When you order your new iaito, use it every day and enjoy it in your daily practice, as well as using it for competition. You'll do better in the competition for using your regular sword, and you'll get to enjoy your new iaito on a regular basis.

OP
shima

shima

K3NPO
Reaction score