Beginner and could use some help

avaron

White Belt
Reaction score
Hi,

I'm new to Muay Thai, so far have been practicing for 2 months have 1 hour classes twice a week. Now I'm aware of my misgivings, I'm told quite often that my technique is messy and I'm quite stiff. My problem is that my mind gets confused a lot and basic steps fall out of my head. I know every technique is a power transition from foot to hip to shoulder and combos designed to take advantage of each attacks movement to create some form of elastic power transfer. Now Trying to focus on my movements while engaging my opponent creates this problem that if I focus too much on the combos my movements becomes stiff and I forget to use the power and I forget to roll my shoulders, but if I do the inverse, the steps in the combo seem to fall out and I end up doing step 4 instead of step 3 and my hands drop more. Is there any way or trick to order this more in my head? I'm quite fast and strong, but all of it is for nothing if I can't get the technique right and I really feel I'm falling behind.

Thank you.

Sukerkin

Have the courage to speak softly
MT Mentor
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I am not making light of your misgivings when I say that, at only two months in, I really would not be concerned at the difficulties you are encountering.

It is so common as to be universal (at all levels of experience) that as you learn and are instructed/corrected, the various elements of a form/technique become better or worse depending on where the focus is.