Barter for tuition

IcemanSK

El Conquistador nim!
MT Mentor
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I'm sure there are a few of us who bartered for tuition when when we were students. In the now era of the "big school model" (whether you have a big school or not) this seems to be done less & less. Has of the instructors here accepted something in trade for tuition.

As a student, I think it would be a bit easier than it would be as an instructor. I'm curious as to your thoughts & experiences.

bluekey88

Senior Master
Reaction score
I'm doing that now. I go in and clean the dojang once o rtwice a week, plus I get tuition cuts fro each class I teach. As long as the expectations for both parties are clear...it shouldn't be much of a problem.

Peace,
Erik

Kwanjang

3rd Black Belt
Reaction score
I bartered for my former TDK instructor. I cleaned the Dojang and was at his beckin call.

I wiil and have bartered with students. Depends on situation though.

dancingalone

Grandmaster
Reaction score
I have a pair of students that treat my wife and I to a home cooked meal at their home every so often. I don't charge much, but they're struggling to make ends meet as one of them attends college. I tried to waive the fees entirely for them but they're proud and won't accept 'charity'.

<shrugs> The meals are delicious! Ethnic Polish food.

Sukerkin

Have the courage to speak softly
MT Mentor
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Not strictly on-topic but there is also a flip-side to this equation.

There are also going to be students like me, who can afford the tuition but, now I've got a few years under me, spend most of their time teaching i.e. I essentially pay to instruct.

This is not to imply that I object to this. Quite the reverse in fact. I enjoy being able to support the dojo both with fiscal costs and teaching needs.

terryl965

<center><font size="2"><B>Martial Talk Ultimate<BR
MTS Alumni
Reaction score