Arnis Hubad lubad Q+A

Kyosanim

Orange Belt
Reaction score
Hi I am new to arnis, and I recently learned hubad lubad from my instructor, and I am very impressed with the drill and its many applications.

I was wondering if someone on here would be so kind as to fill me in on FMA and hubad lubad, and where it leads to.

My instructor already showed me a take down off of it, and showed me how strikes can be applied, but I would like to know a bit more about hubad, and FMA as a whole.

I can already see the nearly unlimited applications of this technique, and how it could improve almost any martial art. Being a TKD black belt I already see ways to break down what I know, and I even see where it would be advantageous in grappling styles like BJJ. It seems somewhat in direct but at the same time I can see where that is part of its strength. Any info is welcome, and I would just like say that this is a fantastic martial art system.

PS Have I seen Bruce Lee do this in his Jeet Kune Do? Because it looks familiar.

geezer

Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Reaction score
PS Have I seen Bruce Lee do this in his Jeet Kune Do? Because it looks familiar.

I'm no JKDer so I can't say for sure. But in our group, hubud is practiced more as a "sensitivity" and flow drill. As such, it is a close cousin of Wing Chun chi-sau and of course, Wing Chun was Bruce Lee's foundation. And, like chi-sau, hubud patterns can branch off into many many kinds of attacks. Granted the parallels between these two ways of practicing, it's hard to imagine that Dan Inosanto wouldn't have shown hubud to Bruce Lee, or that the insatiably curious Lee wouldn't have wanted to explore what hubud has to offer.