Anyone know guitars?

theletch1

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I just picked up a New York Pro SG copy for $100. I don't play but my wife does. She said she'd teach me if I wanted or she'd keep it for herself. Anyone here know if this is a decent electric or did I waste my money?

bluekey88

Senior Master
Reaction score
I'm not familiar with the brand....I wouldn't expect miracles for $100, but it could still be a serviceable learning instrument. is the neck straight? Does it make a ton of noise when you plug it in?

I started playing on a fnder knock off I go tin a kit...guitar, amp, tuner and strap for 199.99 ....I just traded up to a nice Ibanez earlier this year....but that cheap guitar was agreat tool to learn on. At least, if you find it's not for you, you aren't out a ton of cash.

I'd say don't worry too much about the make of the guitar...learn how to play and then as your skills grow, you'll know when it is time to move on up.

Peace,
Erik

OP
theletch1

theletch1

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Thanks. The neck is straight. It makes almost no noise when I plug it into the amp. I put a new set of strings on it and it tuned with my wifes tuner in no time flat. Seems to be a decent machine so far. The guy I got it from really got himself into some trouble during the holidays and needed the money in a bad way. He has several guitars and figured he'd make some quick money by getting rid of one of them.

Jdokan

Black Belt
Reaction score
As earlier posted...neck is straight, no damages, etc....tuning pegs are ok....
check the intonation (google how to...easy.. if I can do it...)