Anyone Hear Of This Guy?

TallAdam85

3rd Black Belt
Reaction score
Don Burns anyone hear of him or know anything about him just wondering cause he teaches martial arts at the INDIANA UNIVERSITY MARTIAL ARTS program so i was thinking about go to I.U

hardheadjarhead

Senior Master
Reaction score
I've known Don since 1976. He was club adviser to the TKD club at I.U. when I studied there.

He and I studied under the same GM, Lee Ki Doc. Don got his black belt in TKD around the mid or early seventies. He was a Judo black belt before that. He got his HKD black belt around 1977 or so...I can't recall. I may be wrong on that one...but it was around that time. I was at one or two of his HKD tests...he tested along with my immediate TKD instructor, Dave Gibson.

I.U. has a pretty good HPER (read "Phys Ed") program. Some people have studied with Don, gotten degrees in recreation, and then gone on to open their own schools.

I'm not sure how much Don teaches anymore. I.U. has a vast martial arts program, though. It used to be the biggest in the U.S. Might still be. Much of that was Don's doing.

I'm indebted to him for recently putting a plug in for me for an upcoming local women's self defense gig. That was nice of him to do that.

Regards,

Steve Scott
Monroe County Martial Arts
[email protected]

aprilbrenner

White Belt
Reaction score
Don Burns anyone hear of him or know anything about him just wondering cause he teaches martial arts at the INDIANA UNIVERSITY MARTIAL ARTS program so i was thinking about go to I.U