Any Other Top Five Wung Chun Masters?

DavyKOTWF

Orange Belt
Reaction score
As I understand it, Ip Man was only about 5'3" and weighed about 125 lbs, yet he was one of the top if not THE top WC guys ever. Who are others? Top 5 ever. Is Master Wong, of youtube fame one? William Cheung in his prime? Are there any 180-190 to 200 lb top masters? Do shorter guys have an advantage in speed? Just asking and curious as I'm new to WC. I'd better clarify...top 5 as in best fighter and proper character/attitude combined.

Last edited:

Headhunter

Senior Master
Reaction score
Best fighter is all opinion. I could come and say my mate John's the best ever doesn't make it true.

Martial D

Senior Master
Reaction score
As I understand it, Ip Man was only about 5'3" and weighed about 125 lbs, yet he was one of the top if not THE top WC guys ever. Who are others? Top 5 ever. Is Master Wong, of youtube fame one? William Cheung in his prime? Are there any 180-190 to 200 lb top masters? Do shorter guys have an advantage in speed? Just asking and curious as I'm new to WC. I'd better clarify...top 5 as in best fighter and proper character/attitude combined.
Afaik none of those guys ever fought anyone. If you are interested in combative WC for fighting, check out Alan Orr.

ShortBridge

3rd Black Belt
Reaction score
I'm quite sure that Master Wong from YouTube is not one of them. Beyond that, it's tough to accurately track this type of history.

Headhunter

Senior Master
Reaction score
Also why was ip Man one of the best....genuine question what did he have that made him the best...was it because he was Bruce lees teacher or the fact he's had a few movies based around him? I'm not saying he was bad but if I'm going to say someone's the best I want some proof of why they're so good. Yeah ip mans probably the most famous but most famous doesn't equal the best

ShortBridge

3rd Black Belt
Reaction score