Another Look at The Tensho Kata

hungfistron

Green Belt
Reaction score
THE TENSHO KATA -

This kata is basically known for its strength developing, and its practice of the Sanchin Dachi (hour glass stance). This hour glass stance is practiced all over Asia. It is used in Chinese martial arts, Korean martial arts, Japanese martial arts etc. The dynamic tension of this stance when done properly will root the trainee to the ground.

Rooting to the ground is not like standing "on" the ground, but instead is identified as standing "in" the ground. Rooted like a tree.
Article.

Last edited by a moderator:

Tez3

Sr. Grandmaster
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Do you have any videos of Tensho etc? I can't be the only one who doesn't know it.
Does one gather chi?

Bill Mattocks

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Apparently drawn from sanchin?

Wikipedia Tensho

There are some videos on YouTube, they look very strange to me, but I am just a newbie and cannot say what is proper and what is not.

Bill Mattocks

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Yes we do stand in sanchin dachi while performing our version of Tensho.

With respect to your original statements about Tensho - but applied to Sanchin:

Rooting to the ground is not like standing "on" the ground, but instead is identified as standing "in" the ground. Rooted like a tree.

Isshinryu adopted Sanchin kata as well, and we describe the sanchin dachi stance very much the same, one is to imagine one's feet are rooted to the ground, one's legs encased in sand up to the knees. One grips the ground and digs in the the toes, tucking in the tailbone and locking into the ground. This is tested with pushes and some kicks, as well as being stood on.

With this stance, are the teachings of the Tensho Kata. Old forms of this Kata we find detrimental to the health and welfare of the practitioner.