Sifu Ken of 8 Tigers

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
{From August 2004}

Sent: Thursday, October 17, 2002 10:24 AM
To: ***@*******.net
Subject: RE: Tai Chi Fighting Theory

A***:

I know this isn't addressed to me specifically, and I don't think I'm qualified to speak on this, but I have a few thoughts. I learned Tai Chi (with few applications) after starting studies in more general Kung Fu, and over the years learned to apply it in many ways. I had to bridge technique to application through experimentation and research into traditional texts. However, the following may be helpful.

First, I think part of the problem is a cultural gap. I studied Oriental philosophy since early high school (on my own at first), but most people have no idea what to make out of the "songs" found in the different lineages to explain principles. Therefore, most people who were "taught" never really understood what they had learned.

And this brings up another problem -- we don't like to think in terms of principles, just cause and effect. We don't have patience for more than "this is right, that is wrong" and want to know that some posture and movement does a specific thing, at a specific range, etc..

From my limited experience and research, Tai Chi focuses more on how you react to your environment (i.e. other people) in terms of Yi, Chi, & Li (Intention, Breath, & Muscular Empowerment). This accounts for ANY possibilities, and not just "if my opponent does this in this way, I will do this in that way". This limitless flexibility is consistent with the way I do martial arts as a whole, and perhaps influences my perspective on Tai Chi, but I believe it to be true.