An age-old weapon combat question

pdb

White Belt
Reaction score
Hi there,
I'm a newbie, and not much of a martial artist, I'll admit - but I have a question that has been the source of constant argument with my brother. This forum, and you, the experts who write on it, are my only hope of ever resolving the question.

Who would win, in a fight between a man with two short swords, and a man with a staff?

Obviously, it's a simplistic question - but would one, on average, beat the other more often than not?
(let's assume that:the staff could not be broken or cut; and the swords are gladius-length (ie 40cm))
Many many thanks for any light you might be able to shed.
best wishes,
pdb

Many thanks

tshadowchaser

Sr. Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Founding Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
As with any question like this it depends on the combatents skill levels and there desire to survive, as well as maybe a little bit of luck.

theletch1

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
First off, welcome to MT. In answer to your question, yes, it is an age old question that has been beaten to death on many a forum. Generally, though, the question is staged as "Which martial art is better? A or B?" and the answer is always the same...depends on the practitioner and a thousand other variables. Here's just one of the many threads on this forum that deal with that similar scenario of which weapon is better.

tellner

Senior Master
Reaction score
The guy with the staff, definitely. He can get them to do the fighting or at least tire the swordsman out :p

arnisador

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
A better question might be, which would you rather be--the person with two swords, or the one with a staff? On theory I think I should prefer the staff, due to the reach...in practice it's hard to pass on two edged weapons. On balance I think I'd likely take the staff if it was a six-foot, solid but not too heavy to move quickly weapon. Reach matters, just as in boxing.

OP
P

pdb