amount of space needed to practice forms

lavender

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Hi,

I've been thinking about how much space I need to practice forms. I know you can shrink it to fit a smaller space, I know you can break it down into parts that fit the space you have, you can sort of step in place, etc. When I googled it I was coming up with those kinds of suggestions.

But what is enough space to really do a form (like TKD underbelt forms) without being forced to cutting corners? I've estimated roughly 4 feet by 8 feet If I start in the back corner. I'm considering buying some puzzle mats so I can practice barefoot at home (the floor is tile, hard and in winter, too cold) and in privacy.

Since I'm doing more assisting than taking classes as a student, I've been practicing at home using smaller spaces. I've done this so much that I've seen it has had a harmful effect when I do practice at the school where there is enough space. I haven't brought anything to measure with and I'm not sure of my estimation.

Thanks!

Flying Crane

Sr. Grandmaster
Reaction score
You use the space that you have. Forms are not performance art. They are tools used to help you train and develop your skill. There is nothing magical about the specific choreography. If you need to make modifications to fit within your space, do so.

OP
L

lavender

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Note that I enjoy doing forms. Numerical suggestions, please. Using TKD Chon Gi and Pyung Hwa as a standards to measure.