American Kenpo Master Key Techniques

• Thread starter matthewgreenland
  • Start date
M

matthewgreenland

Hello Brothers and Sisters of American Kenpo -

I am new to the whole forum scene, so bare with me.

My question is which are the American Kenpo Master Key Techniques and why are they labeled as such?

In advance, thank you to all those who take the time to reply...

Roland

Black Belt
Founding Member
Reaction score
..if there ARE Master Key techniques.
I do believe there are master key movements though!

Goldendragon7

Grandmaster
Reaction score
Originally posted by matthewgreenland
My question is which are the American Kenpo Master Key Techniques and why are they labeled as such?

Of course there are Master Key Techniques as well as Master Key Movements and Master Key Drills..... LOL why do you think we talk of them - just to tease the northerners... HA!:rofl:

MASTER KEY MOVEMENT(S) are defined as being a move or series of moves that can be used in more than one predicament with equal effect. For example a rear heel kick, shin scrape, and instep stomp can be used for a FULL NELSON, BEAR HUG with the arms free or pinned, REAR ARM LOCK, etc. Or, an arm break can be applied to a cross wrist grab, a lapel grab, or hair grab - application of the arm break would remain constant, but the methods of controlling the wrist would vary.

In comparison,

MASTER KEY TECHNIQUES entail sequential arrangements of movements that can be applied to a number of predicaments. In the case of a MASTER KEY TECHNIQUE it is a single technique that may be used as a BASE MOVE. Other similar techniques may then be perceived as formulations of it.