Alcohol and Martial Arts

G

girlychuks

Hello, baby beginner here.
Just curious, how many here are 100% alcohol free vs. social drinking.
I went 100% sober the day I stepped into the dojo and it was NOT easy, but I think if I had not started karate I'd still be drinking today. Part of my being sober is that I have a lot of support, most others in my dojo don't drink, etc.
Just curious as to the percentage of practioners here consider an alcohol-free lifestyle vital to their training.

Cthulhu

Senior Master
Founding Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I had been absolutely 100% sober since my late teens (don't ask...I told you I was a bad boy). However, now that I'm older and more mature (ha ha, I know...big joke :D), I'll drink on VERY rare occasions. I think in the past 11 years, I've had maybe 3 drinks.

And I would never make the mistake of drinking before class. Bad experience with a former instructor who did that. I don't think it's a good thing when you get a buzz off of your instructor's breath. Nope. Not good at all.

Unless you have a history of addiction/alcoholism in your family, I think you won't miss the alcohol, given time. It doesn't really provide any real benefit that can't be gained from a more wholesome or healthy source. When I quit, I was finally able to see the overall stupidity of the people I hung around with. That itself was quite sobering (pun intended :)).

Gah. On the verge of turning this into something non-martial arts related, so I will be shutting up now.

Cthulhu

OP
T

thaiboxer

well i train Muay thai, and i drink every weekend with my mates. It hasnt effected performance yet. i do not drink during the week, only on saturday night or perhaps fridays after i do a run or some skipping and body resistance training, it doesnt take long to get intoxicated after that :D

Bob Hubbard

Retired
MT Mentor
Founding Member
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score