Aikijitsu and Aikido

K

Koga-Shinobi

I was wondering if someone out there can help (Old Sempai seems to be the man)...what is the difference in style and techniques bewteen Aikido and Aikijujitsu?? And secondly, is Aikijujitsu a harder ("more attacking/aggressive") MA than Aikido? What are the similarities/differences between the two?

Any help will be greatly appreciated :)

old_sempai

Green Belt
Reaction score
New Jersey, way in the woods with 2 dogs, one pass
:asian:

I would deem Aikijutsu as a harder style than Aikido. But, also consider this in regard to Aikido. I can only speak from experience in regard to the style I studied [Nihon Goshin Aikido]. Although I have had some exposure to Yoshinkan and Iwama styles as a result of attending seminars. All three styles base response on redirecting the dynamic energy of the attacker, and while the philosophies are similar, Nihon Goshin does not necessarily devote itself to "doing no harm" to the individual, but focuses more on defending oneself.

One could logically ask what would the choice be if I could do it over? There is no choice, when I first began there were very few Juijutsu [spell it any way you want] schools around. However, today Daito Ryu has gained a great following and is noted as a very legitimate art.

For my view, I would take the same course of study, that is a hard style of Aikido [unless you want to follow an extremely passive concept of MA - which in my view is not reality - and I await the firestorm on that statement], Jujutsu [but not limited to any Braziam style, but rather a Japanese based system such as Daito Ryu - a very good choice] Japanese Sword, and Tai Chi, and also add the study of Arnis de Mano to round out training. If your so inclined Muay Thai could also be added to this list. But at 61, I'm no longer a spring chicken, and now have other priorities.

OP
K

Koga-Shinobi