After Systema

Rook

Black Belt
Reaction score
I noticed that alot of systema people dropped arts that they had previously practiced, but I have heard few referances to any beginning to train in other arts simultaneously. Did anyone do this? Why or why not?

(I am aware that Systema is a very flexible system etc... I have read the old threads here as well as much of the official forum and the websites.)

erich

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
I dabble in other things but compared to systema they all seem too narrowly focussed, like games! I enjoy other styles but my focus is all systema. I intend to keep at it for the rest of my days so I have no "after systema" plans.

bam357

White Belt
Reaction score
i studied systema for about 6 mos and found it to be a very good art but the fact of the matter was that i needed to get some real experience before i could excute any moves i was learning aloong with the confidence to know i could do them in a real situation so i am now going to take up some muay thai.

NYCRonin

Purple Belt
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Thats very understandable, for me. I would encourage you to do so....and I am one of the certified Systema teachers under Vlad and Michael. My contact with Systema came after I had more than my fair share of real world contact and experimentation...so perhaps, it was abit easier for me to integrate the 'funny and weird' exercises into protective movements.

Good luck in your future training and know the doors to Systema will always be open to you to visit or return to, fully. Have fun, learn and try your best - apply what your 6 months of Systema gave you.
(Oh - and learn the shin to thigh kick from MT - it can be jiggled abit and fits very well into overall 'systema-type' movement. You will see thats true. 0h, and the downward cutting elbow rotation from MT - in many ways similar to Systema rotations of elbows in close work.)

Drunken Cro

White Belt
Reaction score