Addressing people.

Earl Weiss

Senior Master
Reaction score
Some have commented as to my posts wherein I refer to someone as "Sir" or if appropriate "Mam" . Please do not read anything negative in to this. As most know I am a Chang Hon TK-D student and instructor. The system has deep military roots with the 5 tenets being core principles of the "Do" with "Courtesy " being the most important.

As such it is our practice in TK-D environs to practice courtesy by using "Sir" or "Mam" or appropriate title when addressing someone. This extends to situations such as TKD / Martial arts environs on the internet. I have no issues with those who do not follow this convention and I hope none are insulted by the use of these terms. Similarly my failure to use the term in appropriate circumstances should only be viewed as my failure to follow my habit and nothing bad should be implied.

skribs

Grandmaster
Reaction score
Some have commented as to my posts wherein I refer to someone as "Sir" or if appropriate "Mam" . Please do not read anything negative in to this. As most know I am a Chang Hon TK-D student and instructor. The system has deep military roots with the 5 tenets being core principles of the "Do" with "Courtesy " being the most important.

As such it is our practice in TK-D environs to practice courtesy by using "Sir" or "Mam" or appropriate title when addressing someone. This extends to situations such as TKD / Martial arts environs on the internet. I have no issues with those who do not follow this convention and I hope none are insulted by the use of these terms. Similarly my failure to use the term in appropriate circumstances should only be viewed as my failure to follow my habit and nothing bad should be implied.

I also hope you don't read into my not using "sir" as a sign of disrespect. I just consider the internet to be less formal than class.

andyjeffries

Senior Master
Reaction score