A Sword Art just for me...Iaido?

KenpoEMT

Brown Belt
Reaction score
Hello!
I have no training what-so-ever in any Sword Art. My background is in Kenpo, yet I am interested in learning a solo form of Swordsmanship. Something that I can train in alone. I have no particular interest in rank or associations (not to insinuate that these are bad things :) ).
I suppose that I am more interested in the focus and awareness that I have heard Iaido provides to those who train diligently. Is it possible to train independently in Iaido?

I understand that learning from a book or video is far, far inferior to live instruction and may never lead to any great skill; however, in this endever, that's ok with me. I doubt that I will ever seek formal training (with the sword), and I will certainly never present myself to another as having had any formal training(with the sword). It is something extra that I wish to do in privacy...just for me.

So, with this in mind, is there anyone here that is willing to point me in the right direction? Which videos or books are the best at conveying knowledge?
More importantly, what dangerous pitfalls should I avoid?

pgsmith

Master of Arts
Reaction score
More importantly, what dangerous pitfalls should I avoid?

Here's the major pitfall you should avoid. This is from a gentleman that posts on swordforum.com. He is quite familiar with swords, and had been teaching himself iaido out of a book for a while now. The problem is that books and videos can only give you a general idea of what you are doing. With no instructor to tell you where you are not correct, something like this can happen from just trying to resheath your sword (that's how it happened). He can only move two fingers on that hand now. Please think about this before you decide to try and teach yourself.

Cut_arm.jpg

exitwound.jpg

Good luck!

Charles Mahan

Purple Belt
Reaction score