a question for you all

heretic888

Senior Master
Reaction score
Here is a question for you all:

what is your personal defintion of 'ninpo' and 'ninjutsu' and 'ninja'; and why do you think this way???

Thanks, and may interesting discussion flourish.

arnisador

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I am far from an expert, but I think of "ninja" as an occupation, "ninjutsu" as a martial art, and "ninpo" as a way of emphasizing certain aspects of ninjutsu that are useful in self-defense.

M

Makoto-Dojo

Hi,

a Ninja was a person who existed in a specific place (old Japan) at a specific time and do to his actions, the political climate etc... he was known as a "Ninja" or Shinobi (also by other names) He/she was a person who used Ninjutsu.

Ninjutsu is spying, stealth, gathering intelligence all of that.

Ninpo is a way of life based on the concept of Nin. There is Ninjutsu in Ninpo.

Ninpo Taijutsu is using the body based on the above life concept.

Regards,

OP
heretic888

heretic888

Senior Master
Reaction score
could you detail this 'ninpo life way' a bit more?? what are its basic approaches to life and situations..... and some of its fundamental philosophies??? ethics?? maybe even spirituality/metaphysics???

thanks.:)

M

Makoto-Dojo

Originally posted by heretic888

could you detail this 'ninpo life way' a bit more?? what are its basic approaches to life and situations..... and some of its fundamental philosophies??? ethics?? maybe even spirituality/metaphysics???

thanks.:)

Before and after every class, we (Genbukan) recite a poem written by Takamatsu Sensei called ninja seishin. This is to remind us of the basic way of ninpo. Here is the english translation:

The essence of the Ninja spirit is fortitude:
Perseverance of mind, body and consiousness.
Endure shame, forget jealousy,
The origin is patience.

'Nin' is not placing 'blade' over 'heart' to hurt others.
'Nin' means 'kajo waraku,'
Truly strong and compassionate heart, pure as a tender flower,