A different kind of question, photo critique requested

Bob Hubbard

Retired
MT Mentor
Founding Member
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
As many know, I'm a photographer as well as web geek. This past weekend I did some test shoots and wanted to get some feedback from experienced sword practitioners on how I can improve them in the future.

Thank you.
:asian:

Thumbnails are below, please click for a full view.

Deadly Visions I

Kocho no kamae

Infinite

Brown Belt
Reaction score
Ok I know nothing of photography but my 2 cents.
So the good
Very pretty girl :) always a bonus.
Great color scheme I really liked how it all fell together.
Good poses strong sense of perspective.

Ok so detractors or rather things I noticed:

On the full body shot the contrast is once again really stark. Only against her pale skin however on the thigh. Then you have some interesting shadows across the face. The shadows on the face almost make it look a bit fuzzy or something it really draws my eyes away from the total shot.

On the closeup shot with the eyes the shadows on the blade draw out the white in her face and makes a very stark contrast. I didn't particularly think it was favorable but that might have been the goal. This has to do mostly with the white not being soft enough off of her skin. Its like a STARK hospital white not a soft pearl white.

Otherwise those are very fine photographs.

CoryKS

Senior Master
Reaction score
For a picture called 'Deadly Visions", she seems kinda smiley. Good photos, though.

Cryozombie

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
The sword looks cheap. Susan looks good tho.

:D

pgsmith

Master of Arts
Reaction score
This past weekend I did some test shoots and wanted to get some feedback from experienced sword practitioners on how I can improve them in the future.
Hey Bob,