52 Blocks on Wing Chun Dummy

Nobody Important

2nd Black Belt
Reaction score
This is interesting. I don't know much about 52 Blocks, but from what you show in the video I, personally, don't see anything different from the Wing Chun I studied other than terminology. How is 52 Blocks different? Approach, strategy, techniques? Just trying to get a better understanding of the method, thanks.

OP
K

KPM

Senior Master
Reaction score
52 Blocks is a very defensive method. It is based primarily on covers and meant to be used in tight spaces. Lyte Burly calls it a "pressure relief method".....meaning you feel the pressure of the attack and "weather the storm" and then fill the gap that the opponent leaves, with your own counter-punches. Many of the "blocks" or covers can also be elbow strikes when used offensively. One training method is "slap boxing", or using palm strikes instead of punches. If you don't have any protective equipment, then throwing palms against the partner's "blocks" is more forgiving than using fists. But in application the palm strikes can be very effective and avoid a broken hand! But 52 still uses the western boxing "engine" or biomechanics. The footwork is very "light" and fast with evasive body movement because the emphasis is on defense, but again...the idea is to be able to survive a barrage of punches until you can land your own shots.

Kung Fu Wang

Sr. Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Reaction score
the idea is to be able to survive a barrage of punches until you can land your own shots.
I don't understand this strategy. Why not just wrap his punching arm during his 1st or 2nd punch?

After you have wrapped your opponent's punching arm, you can:

- headbutt him,
- palm strike him,
- elbow him,
- take him down,

At least you can put your opponent in defense mode instead of to let your opponent to put you in defense mode.