1 week transformation

Headhunter

Senior Master
Reaction score

So maybe this has been posted before but I just saw it. This kid got beat up so rener gracie trained him for a week.

Here's my thoughts on this. It was a nice thing to do for a confidence boost but I doubt that kid learnt much at all. I mean he may have learnt some techniques but I very much doubt he could apply them in a real situation. It takes a lot longer than a week to be able to use techniques in free rolling. I've been doing Jiu Jitsu for 3 months 3 times a week and I can only really do an arm bar and a couple of sweeps in free rolling and by the looks of it the kid didnt roll much at all apart from with rener who would've been holding back of course he never went against anyone going 100%.

I don't like this kind of thing because this kid may now have a false sense of security and think he's better than he is, especially after being given a stripe.

Again good job for helping for his confidence but I doubt he learnt much and more likely than not he didn't carry on training either.

Not hating but just my opinion.

jobo

Grandmaster
Reaction score
he probably learnt a great deal,a week of dedicated training with the graces is not to be sniffed at, its more training than the police get in unarmed combat.
what was probably his biggest lession is he is capable of fighting back, thats where a lot of people being bullied are, its not that they cant defend themselves, he looked 20lbs heavier than his attacker, its that they don't think they can. Some times people need to be given permission to stand up fore themselves,
I watched the transformation of my nephew , who was being heavily bullied, a few weeks of an hour a week at tkd and he was impossible to hit, a few weeks more and his mother got a call from the school, he had knocked the big kid out with a head kick,

but the tkd wasn't really the defining issue, it was the strong role models and the permission to fight back that made the difference