Thread: Temple Style Tai Chi

Martial Talk
    Blue Belt
    Thanks

Temple Style Tai Chi

Can you help an idiot out with a question :-)

I went to a Temple Style Tai Chi class yesterday. Loved the class but I wanted some basic information about the system. The instructor was able to provide a boatload of material but I also wanted to talk to my friends here...

The style is called Hwa-Yu T'ai- Chi and is currently headed by Robert Xavier of CT. I understand that his teacher was John Chung Li.

I am looking for a style that can help me learn the "internal" connections and martial applications of the movements. I have 27 years of experience in the "external" martial arts and I am looking to dive more into the internal road.

Any thoughts?
    Thanks
    Jeremy Bays

Martial Talk
    Sr. Grandmaster
    20,000 Post Club
    Thanks
    Thanked 3,412 Times in 2,083 Posts

Re: Temple Style Tai Chi

From what little I know and what I have just found out using some webfu it is not Taiji as we would know Taiji by lineage from Chen family to all other families (Yang, Wu, Wu/Hao, Sunand possibly Zhaobao, but that's another story in and of itself) and it does not even claim a mythical connection to Zhang Sengfeng or any other taijiquan person or family

Temple Taiji or Hwa-Yu Taiji is allegedly from Liuhebafa (Liu Ho Pa Fa) which taijiquan is not from.
    Last edited by Xue Sheng; 06-29-2010 at 04:22 PM.
    - If you train martial arts without training deep skill, you will arrive at old age with nothing - Di Guoyong
    - Nothing in this world is difficult, but thinking makes it seem so. Where there is true will, there is always a way. - Wú Chéng'ēn
    - One of the original Four Heroic Cynical Curmudgeons

Martial Talk
    Black Belt
    Thanks

Yep, it's about Liuhebafa, not Taijiquan. Hey, maybe it has good internal principles, but it ain't Taijiquan.

Here's a book. I have it, and when I get home I'll take another look at it and get back to you.

Martial Talk